Put Your Listening Cap On, Committee Members

As promised, the Transportation Committee (the Highways and Transit Subcommittee, to be precise) has sent the tentative witness list for its two-day hearing that purports to “Focus on Surface Transportation Bill and Streamlining Programs, Cutting Red Tape & Creating Jobs.”

John Burke of Trek and Bikes Belong is scheduled to testify before the Highways and Transit Subcommittee next week. Photo: ##http://www.daylife.com/photo/03J0aIAdQz2Kx##AP##

Lawmakers better get a comfy seat, because they’re planning to sit through twenty witnesses each of the two days.

At the top of the list are William Millar of the American Public Transportation Association, Larry Hanley of the Amalgamated Transit Union, and Dale Marsico of the Community Transportation Association of America. For a committee that listened to an awful lot of highway interests at its field hearings around the country, this is a great sign that they’re bringing in a greater diversity of voices (and modes).

Sure, the truckers and state DOTs and the American Highway Users Alliance and the Tea Party are all represented too. But it’ll be great to see John Robert Smith of Reconnecting America, Peter Pantuso of the American Bus Association, John Burke of Trek Bicycle and Bikes Belong, and Deron Lovaas of NRDC talking some sense about transportation policy in there.

The links to the two days’ lists of witnesses are above but you have to click on each name to show the affiliation, so for ease of scanning, the full list is after the jump.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Mr. William Millar, President, American Public Transportation Association

Mr. Larry Hanley, International President, Amalgamated Transit Union

Mr. Dale J. Marsico, CCTM, Executive Director, Community Transportation Association of America

Mr. Jon Martz, Vice President – Government Relations, VPSI, Inc.
On behalf of Association for Commuter Transportation

Mr. Robert McBride, Operator, Metro Taxi, Denver, CO
On behalf of Taxicab, Limousine & Paratransit Association

Ms. Jennifer Dexter, Assistant Vice President – Government Relations, Easter Seals

Ms. Barbara Windsor, President and CEO, Hahn Transportation, Inc.
On behalf of American Trucking Associations

Mr. Kristopher Kane, Truck Driver, Quality Carriers
On behalf of Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

Mr. LaMont Byrd, Director, Safety and Health Department, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Mr. Dave Leach, President and CEO, Greyhound Lines, Inc.

Mr. Peter Pantuso, President and CEO, American Bus Association

Captain Steve Dowling, California Highway Patrol
On behalf of Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance

Mr. Vernon F. Betkey, Jr., Director, Maryland Highway Safety Office
On behalf of Governors Highway Safety Association

Ms. Judith Lee Stone, President, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

Ms. Jan Withers, Member, National Board of Directors, Mothers Against Drunk Driving

Mr. Robert LeTourneau, New Hampshire Motorcycle Education Specialist
On behalf of Motorcycle Riders Foundation

Mr. Mortimer L. Downey, III, Senior Advisor, Parsons Brinckerhoff
On behalf of Coalition for America’s Gateways and Trade Corridors

Mr. Kurt Nagle, CEO and President, American Association of Port Authorities

Mr. Wayne Johnson, Manager, Carrier Relations, Owens Corning
On behalf of National Industrial Transportation League

Ms. Lisa Mullings, President and CEO,  National Association of Truck Stop Operators

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Mr. John Njord, P.E., Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation

Congressman Sherwood Boehlert, National Transportation Policy Project Co-Chair, Bipartisan Policy Center

Mr. Timothy Ware, Executive Director, Mid-East Commission, Washington, NC
On behalf of National Association of Development Organizations

Mr. Ashby Johnson, AICP, Deputy MPO Director, Houston Galveston Regional Council
On behalf of Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations

Mr. Frank McCartney, Executive Director, Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission
On behalf of International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association

Mr. Bryan Grote, Co-Founder, Mercator Advisors, LLC and Member, National Surface Transportation Infrastructure Financing Commission

Dr. Adrian Moore, Vice President, Reason Foundation and Member, National Surface Transportation Infrastructure Financing Commission

Mr. John Robert Smith, President and CEO, Reconnecting America

Ms. Sharon Calvert, Co-Founder, Florida Alliance

Mr. Raymond Poupore, Executive Vice President, National Construction Alliance II

Mr. Greg Cohen, President and CEO, American Highway Users Alliance

Mr. Paul Diederich, President, Industrial Builders
On behalf of Associated General Contractors

Mr. Bill Cox, President, Corman Construction, Inc.
On behalf of American Road and Transportation Builders Association

Mr. Joe Jeffrey, President, Road-Tech Safety Services, Inc.
On behalf of American Traffic Safety Services Association

Mr. David R. Thomey, Executive Vice President, Maryland Materials Inc.
On behalf of National Stone, Sand, and Gravel Association

Mr. Scott Belcher, President, Intelligent Transportation Society of America

Mr. Gerald Stump, Chief Operating Officer, Wilbur Smith Associates
On behalf of American Council of Engineering Companies

Ms. Kathy J. Caldwell, P.E., President, American Society of Engineers

Mr. John Burke, CEO, Trek Bicycle Corporation
On behalf of Bikes Belong

Mr. Deron Lovaas, Federal Transportation Policy Director, .Natural Resources Defense Council


Day Two of Massive Transportation Committee Hearing Underway

Highways and Transit Subcommittee Chair John Duncan (R-TN) can’t stop mentioning that this kind of hearing has “never been done before.” The subcommittee is hearing from 20 witnesses a day for two days in an effort to satisfy every interest group’s need to speak before the committee gets to work crafting the next surface transportation […]

Montana Dem Max Baucus to Chair Senate Transpo Subcommittee

We at Streetsblog have been saying that the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee will be a key player in the transportation debate this session, counterbalancing the conservative House as they, together with the administration and the Senate Banking Committee, craft a six-year reauthorization. The EPW could play a key role in tempering House attempts […]

Dissenting Voices on Stimulus, on the Network and in Congress

The Streetsblog Network is continuing to digest the draft of stimulus legislation that came out of the House Appropriations Committee yesterday. We’re featuring a post from Design New Haven that offers a pretty tough evaluation: Despite all the evidence that transit-oriented development creates jobs by dramatically saving large numbers of people time and commuting expenses, […]

Pro-Bike Republican Tom Petri to Chair Key House Transpo Panel

The Republican co-chair of the Congressional Bicycling Caucus is getting a leadership position with some real gravitas. Rep. Tom Petri (R-WI) was just named the new chair of the Highways and Transit Subcommittee in the House — the epicenter of the chamber’s surface transportation legislation. The list of Republicans who support active transportation is pretty short […]