- Streetsblog USA - http://usa.streetsblog.org -

Today’s Headlines

Posted By Katie Pearce On January 4, 2013 @ 9:00 am In Today's Headlines | No Comments

  • Shuster Lays Out Agenda for Transpo Committee (Roll Call [1])
  • NC Governor Picks Ex-County Schools Chief for Top Transpo Post (Charlotte Observer [2], Herald Sun [3])
  • Amtrak Names New Chiefs for Business, Safety (The Hill [4])
  • Deval PatrickĀ Tones Down Talks [5] on Gas Tax Hike as Polls Prove It’s Unpopular [6] (AP, Statehouse News)
  • “Big New Mass Transit Plans Are Cooking” in Atlanta (AJC [7])
  • Maryland Makes Strides With Cycling (Baltimore Sun [8])
  • Strong Towns [9] Offers Thoughts on “Next Generation DOTs”
  • NJ Transit Uses Fed Funds for New Natural-Gas Buses (Asbury Park Press [10])
  • Estonia’s Capital Makes Public Transpo Free (Business Insider [11])

Article printed from Streetsblog USA: http://usa.streetsblog.org

URL to article: http://usa.streetsblog.org/2013/01/04/todays-headlines-883/

URLs in this post:

[1] Roll Call: http://www.rollcall.com/news/shuster_strengthen_our_transportation_network-220493-1.html

[2] Charlotte Observer: http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2013/01/04/3762753/tony-tata-named-nc-transportation.html

[3] Herald Sun: http://www.heraldsun.com/news/x1898436139/McCrory-pick-for-DOT-draws-cautious-response

[4] The Hill: http://thehill.com/blogs/transportation-report/railroads/275507-amtrak-names-new-business-operations-safety-chiefs

[5] Tones Down Talks: http://www.wbur.org/2013/01/04/patrick-gas-tax

[6] Unpopular: http://www.sentinelandenterprise.com/breakingnews/ci_22306441/poll-mass-gas-tax-hike-unpopular

[7] AJC: http://www.ajc.com/news/news/transit-plans-slowed-but-not-stopped/nTkzh/

[8] Baltimore Sun: http://articles.baltimoresun.com/2013-01-02/news/bs-md-bike-plans-20130102_1_trails-summit-bike-lanes-bicycle-transportation-master-plan

[9] Strong Towns: http://www.strongtowns.org/journal/2013/1/4/the-next-generation-dot.html

[10] Asbury Park Press: http://www.app.com/article/20130103/NJNEWS/301030081/NJ-Transit-buy-84-new-buses-federal-funds

[11] Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/tallinn-estonia-makes-public-transit-free-2013-1

Copyright © 2008 Streetsblog. All rights reserved.